CD – €18

View Cart


“So this release is quite literally a work of art, not just a beautifully sung, played and engineered audio CD” David Kidman, Fatea Magazine

“A treasure to own and treasure to listen to. A masterpiece of a triptych.” Seán Laffey, Irish Music Magazine

“The lovely Irish singer Caitriona O’Leary’s calming voice overwhelms from the first track onward.” Michael Johnson, Facts & Arts

“The captivating voice of Caitríona O’Leary enchants the listener. In Sleepsongs, she performs a selection of lullabies and other songs on the theme of sleep with Dúlra, her excellent early music ensemble.” Séverine Garnier, TGV Magazine (France)

“Her charismatic voice always inspires a sense of devotion in the listener. with Sleepsongs Dúlra has found a sound that will win over world music lovers and surely every fan of Irish folk.” Winifried Dulisch, Audio Magazine (Germany)

SLEEPSONGS is an album of Suantraí – ancient Irish lullabies and songs on the theme of sleep. Suantraí along with Geantraí (songs of joy and happiness) and Goltraí (laments) comprise the three strands of traditional song in Irish mythology. This album completes Caitríona O’Leary & Dúlra’s trilogy of albums based on this repertory. I am Stretched on Your Grave, an album of Irish laments (Goltraí), was released in 2001 by BMG Deutsche Harmonia Mundi and Ecstasy, an album of Irish songs of Joy and rapture (Geantraí), which was released in 2012 by Heresy/Naxos.

Hear a preview


Classics Online






1. Cuirfidh mé féin mo Leanbh a Chodladh (I will Put my Baby to Sleep)
2. Agus Seoithín (And Lulla, Lullaby)
3. An Seóthó (The Lulla)
4. Seobá mo Leanbh (Shush, my Baby)
5. Uiseó (Hush o)
6. Codail, a Leanbh (Sleep, Child)
7. Rachaidh Sé (He will Go)
8. Cosa Buí Árda (Little Yellow Legs)
9. Ar Mhullach an tSídhe (On the Fairy Mound)
10. Tá Mé ‘mo Chodladh (I Am Asleep)
11. Codail Beagán (Sleep a Little) – C. O’Leary
12. Seoithín mo Leanbh (Lullaby my Baby)
13. Suantraí Nua Eabhrac (New York Lullaby) – C. O’Leary
14. Lollai Littl Child – C. O’Leary
15. When I Was Young
16. Cucú-ín (Little Cuckoo)
17.  A Bhean úd Thíos ar Bhruach an tSrutháin (O Woman Beside the Stream)

Caitríona O’Leary & Dúlra

Caitríona O’Leary (voice)
Adrian Hart (fiddle)
Emer Mayock (flute & whistle)
Kate Ellis (cello)
Mel Mercier (bodhrán)

Guest Artists

Deirdre O’Leary (Bb & bass clarinets)
Erin Headley (bass viol & lirone)
Francesco Turrisi (percussion)
University College Cork Gamelan (Director, Mel Mercier)

Also by DÚLRA